Hutton Rudby Primary Logo School News:
March 9, 2018 Hutton Rudby Year 5 Finish Second in Debating CompetitionMarch 5, 2018 HRPS Congratulated
Header Image Hutton Rudby Primary Logo

School Overview

Children are taught in classes according to age. Children begin their school lives in the Reception Class. Here they are in the Foundation stage of the National Curriculum.

Key Stage 1 of the National Curriculum is followed from age five onwards. The children are in Key Stage 1 (KS1) between the ages of five and seven. Their year groups are called Years 1 and 2 (Y1 and Y2).

At the end of Key Stage 1 children complete national tests known as Statutory Assessment Tests (SATS).

 Thereafter the children follow the Key Stage 2 (KS2) National Curriculum whilst they are in Years 3, 4, 5 and 6 (Y3, Y4, Y5, Y6).

At the end of Key Stage 2 the children take the Key Stage 2 Statutory Assessment Tests before going into secondary school. How the school fares in these tests is reportable to parents.

Results are published each year in the Annual Governors’ Report to Parents. The most recent results can be viewed here.


Sports England
Osted Outstanding
ICT Mark
Healthy Schools
Active Mark
Arts Council
The FA